My Road to Becoming A Calligrapher: The Beginning

This week, I’ve been assigned the task of finding something that I’ve always wanted to do. Immediately, lots of things came to mind: how to scuba dive, brew my own beer, and crochet, among others. However, the one that I was most excited about was how to write calligraphy. It may seem a little archaic and impractical, but, when given the opportunity to explore any of my interests and have it be an assignment, I thought it was the perfect choice.

I like the idea of being able to write calligraphy because I’ve always found it so beautiful, and I’ve never known anyone who could actually do it. This will be something entirely new to me. There are so many styles of calligraphy out there, and I get to learn about as many as I want. Yay.

There is, however, one caveat to this assignment that might make it a challenge – all of my learning must be done via YouTube videos and help forums. I’m somewhat familiar with learning in this way, as I learned how to make and decorate cakes through spending many hours online searching for tips and tricks, which included videos and help forums.

Thus far, my search for resources has led me to a number of great videos on how to write calligraphy. I found a user, videojugartscrafts, on YouTube who has some great videos explaining everything from the materials needed, to how to set up the area. Other resources include this video by OvernightArtist.

I’m looking forward to this learning experience ahead of me. Please continue to follow me to be updated on the journey. Maybe it will inspire you to learn something new, as well.

 

 
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.

3 comments

  1. This is awesome! Will share with my wife as this is right up her alley. I’m kind of a sucker for this sort of thing myself as I spend a lot of time working with typography and amateur graphic design. It looks like you’ve identified some great starting resources, and I can’t wait to see what you produce!

Leave a comment